Everyday Grace

Blessed are the meek for they shall inherit the earth…”

As I started the last “first day” of classes as a senior, I found myself falling into silly patterns. The most familiar was the “I hope I don’t look stupid/silly/like a jerk/impolite/like a noob ” or fill in the blank with any sort of outcast-ish word. As I caught myself I prayed to have grace for myself and grace to give others. Grace for my pride and grace to give those who fit into the category I don’t want to look like.

It’s taken a while to embody the idea of “meekness” because it is so easy and inherent for me to take on the rickety throne of pride. But “blessed are the meek for they shall inherit the earth” and I have learned what “inherit(ing) the earth” looks like on various levels. It is power to invite others in. Power to build relationships. Power to build other people up. Power to show Christ’s love and grace – everyday. When I am meek, I have power of tremendous abilities.

Leave a Reply

