A Daydreamer’s Prayer

“Blessed is the man who walks not in council of the wicked, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of scoffers, but his delight is in the law of the Lord and on it he meditates, day and night.” (Psalm 1:1-2, ESV) 

        Since my summer schedule is less packed than my typical year, I have started to notice how often I catch myself idly daydreaming. Although daydreams can bring out spurts of creativity and help internalize scenarios, the root of why I daydream seems to rest in the fact that I hope it really really happens. So instead of being a helpful activity, my daydreams divert my attention from the present and leave me lusting for the future: future achievements, future plans, future what-ifs. This short sights the beauty and urgency of the present in which I reside.

      So now I’m in the process of rooting my daydreams in anticipation for the final union (no, not marriage) with Christ and fostering my daydreams with scripture. Future, bring it.

One thought on “A Daydreamer’s Prayer

  1. Right on. I have the same problem. I’ve found it helpful to turn the daydreams over to God in prayer as they come. Also memorizing Scripture, because then it’s more likely to drift in when your mind is idle.

Leave a Reply

