Content

The past week was a toughie with practice, the friendly match, and midterms, but amidst it there was still much joy to delight in.

I realized that I have only about 2 1/2 more months here, which is a crazy thought. There’s still so much I haven’t seen and experienced about Hong Kong, but all that I have so far has been amazing – the food, the people, the sites. For sure I will miss the mountains and dynamic landscape of Hong Kong (yay, back to cornfields in IL!)

So, to summarize a little bit of what’s been happening I’m doing  3 more random Becca facts:

1. I have sweet blood – or at least the mosquitos and other biting insects think so. So far, I think I have constantly had a bite on my body since the weather has risen above 60F. At the moment, I have over 10 bites on my four limbs and 1 developing on my face. This Sat. I went to Shenzhen with Jen and Amy, two other US exchange students. We had a big kid day – flew a kite, hiked an easy park trail, rented a peddle boat, and ate hot pot. It was during the peddle boat ride that the bugs attacked. The bites make it quite difficult to sleep at night since one bite or the other is rubbingagainst something constantly. But, good thing is I have my Fengyoujing 凤油精 to put on them to cool the itch.

2. Peanut Butter is a staple food of mine. I currently have a chocolate striped peanut butter jar in my drawer. (And I discovered a new, delicious partner for PB – condensed milk! ) But this Sunday it was a friend, Craig’s, birthday (HK Baptist University – in association with my church, Kowloon Int. Baptist Church) so we surprised him at Satay King and had 鸡蛋仔( little egg shaped waffles) with PB afterwards. It was a relaxing night and lots of fun.

3. Bethany Dillon has been playing on repeat off my iPod and laptop for the past week. My favorite song off her acoustic album is The Kingdom

In the joys and discouragements, I’m trying to set my heart in being content:

12I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13I can do everything through him who gives me strength. (Philippians 4)

One thought on “Content

  1. Brittany says:

    I haven’t listened to Bethany Dillon in ages, Becca. I am glad that you are finding comfort in her words. 🙂 And it never fails…you’re always providing us with information about food and sightseeing and I continue to be a little envious. 😉 This chocloate and PB combo though sounds SO delicious. A little comfort food with a twist. 🙂

    ❤ always. B.

Leave a Reply

