Cheung Zhou

Last Saturday (Feb. 27th) I went with some local friends in my public health class, Zoe, Chelsia, Winnie ,and Christabel, to the island of Cheung Zhou which is about a 1/2 hour ferry ride off of HK island.

pre-arrival

Left, an incredibly foggy view off the ferry ride. Christabel on the right being mischievous on the ferry ride. She’s the one who introduced me to rugby. =]

The feel of the island is very much what I’d imagine Hawaii to be like. It’s very chill and everyone’s just in a good mood.

Winnie and Christabel again.

It’s fish shaped banana mochi or 香蕉羔. It’s only sold during that weekend of Yuan Xiao which is the last day of the Chinese New Year. I hear it’s kind of the equivalent of Valentine’s Day, but it’s more of just a lantern festival since I don’t think many young-uns follow the valentine tradition anymore.

HK version of hiking. Although it’s not as “earthy” feeling, there are plenty of tough treks up and down the mountain and the view was amazing.

We wanted to get down to this beach.

So here we are descending…

And, we’re there! But secluded beach meant more trash that no one picks up =(. That’s OK though, we still had fun climbing out on the rocks.

There’s plenty more pictures (of me as well) up on FB, so feel free to FB stalk through my recent photos.

We didn’t get to do as much as we wanted, but we ended up grabbing a seafood dinner before we headed back to HK. It was a really relaxing day before I had an exam the following Monday. I have 2 more exams coming up this week and a rugby match scheduled on Tuesday. =D

As for my Best Egg Tart search, the next one is a close 2nd to the Maxim’s one. It was a little sweeter than I preferred and the crust was not as firm as Maxim’s, but still not bad. I’m planning on grabbing some Portuguese Egg Tarts before church this Sunday so I’ll update you guys on that =]

I’m starting to enjoy the beauty of the fog here in HK.

God is Good.

One thought on “Cheung Zhou

  1. Susana says:

    Looks like you’re having fun!
    Aww and fog is cool!, except when you’re driving. 🙂
    I miss you much, we def need to skype soon.
    Is the last picture of your room? The view looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

