Chinese New Year

年三十 (New Year’s Eve)

I went to visit the New Year’s flower market again with my local friend, Candy. Afterwards I went to her house for dinner – hot pot and strawberries for dessert ( I missed the tangyuan because I came back to the dorm earlier).

初一 I went down to Tsim Sha Tsui with some friends to watch the parade – which I don’t have pictures of since it was at night and my stock lens has no power in the dark. So enjoy the rest of the flower market photos.

I think I found my favorite egg tarts – from Maxims, the bakery chain in HK. Delicious, firm, not flaky crust with delightfully sweet custard.

初三 New Year’s Day 3, Wang Dai Sin Temple with Auntie Sum

Sum Yi and her family = ]

7 thoughts on “Chinese New Year

  1. Ting Ting says:

    i do enjoy reading your blog =]

    Have you tried any good local snacks besides egg tart???
    for eaxmple, egg puffs (雞蛋仔),

  2. Ting Ting says:

    Btw, my home is so close to Wong Tai Sin =]..
    5-10 mins walk .

  3. Brittany says:

    These pictures are beautiful, Becca! I think my favorite though is the one of the egg tart. 🙂 I’m glad that you found them! I can just imagine how delicious they taste when you actually get them from China. 🙂 Fill up on them for me, friend! It looks like the flower market was tons of fun! Did you buy any flowers? 🙂

    ❤ Britt

  4. Riles says:

    ah so this confirms it. you did bump into Candy. so weird. hope you’re doing well

  5. jiewen says:

    OOOH. chinese new year… i wish i was in HK for chinese new year. :] hope you are eating lots of yummy foods.

  6. Diana says:

    Hey Becca!

    Cool photos~they are very colorful 🙂
    Is it a cultural thing that the family did not smile in the last photograph?

    Diana

    • nolair says:

      Nope, not a cultural thing. I think they’re just not one to fight for the spot light type of family and besides the older daughter is kind of in that angst-y teenage age.

Leave a Reply

