Running the Race

I’m not sure if I mentioned this in my previous post, but I committed to playing rugby for the HK universities tournament in March. I feel really crazy for saying that, however, I feel a calling to be alongside those girls. Needless to say, I’m definitely not on the same level as they are so between now and Mar. 20th I need to train. I’ve never committed to an organized sports team before, so by God’s grace things will fall into place.

This morning was actually  Day 1 of training so I went with a gal-pal, Rose, to go running. She’s a crazy good runner so I really consider her more of my personal trainer than a running partner. The route is tough because the path down to the track is hilly and the sidewalk is made of individual brick pieces.

Progress today:

-ran to sign post about (1/2 way down)

-3 laps at track – 1 full run, 2 broken laps (4 laps = mi.)

-ran uphill to speed bump then up a hill to sign post “50”

-walked from post “50” to I-House bus stop then up to Hang Seng

The above is probably more for me than for you since you guys don’t know where any of that is. But I realized while I was pushing myself, scripture started coming to mind, most particularly:

Phil 3:12-14 (Jer) “Not that I have become perfect yet; I have not yet won, but I am still running, trying to capture the prize for which Christ Jesus captured me. I can assure you my brothers, I am far from thinking that I have already won. All I can say is that I forget the past and I strain ahead for what is still to come; I am racing for the finish, for the prize to which God calls us upward to receive in Christ Jesus.”

At no other point was my empathy for Paul’s words quite as poignant than while I was running today. The race is by no means supposed to be easy, but because I lack the true discipline which helps me see the reality of the race, I’m fooled into thinking it’s not that hard. So now my physical need for discipline is helping me to understand the reality of spiritual discipline – how awesome.

Even though my body feels a bit sore and my mind is a little foggy, I am in a position where I can only rely upon God and His grace. For even Christ prayed in the garden before his crucifixion, “Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet, not my will, but yours be done.” If this is the will of the Lord, then even through my training He will be glorified.

A cool thing I’ve noticed through my time here is that as I encounter situations, I remember applicable parts of scripture. Through my living, God gives me a greater understanding of His word, but it is only possible by being familiar with His Word. So, for me, this is a greater encouragement to dig deeply in the Bible and often.

No pictures this time, but for sure there will be photos of all things related to Chinese New Year in the one to come. It’s actually on Valentine’s day this year, so the color schemes mesh well. =]

2 thoughts on “Running the Race

  1. Brittany says:

    Awesome is right, Becca! 🙂 God is SO good! I’m so glad to read how you are pressing into Him and are being able to recall Scripture when you need it most. To Him continue be the glory!

    ❤ Your sister, Brittany 🙂

  2. mr raymond says:

    robekah i can def relate! :p ive started to shape up my health and man it really does relate to my spiritual health. keep up the updates!
    heres two eprops! haha

Leave a Reply

