People, Places, and Things

Sorry for the huge gap between posts, but the past week and weekend was filled with a few different outings here and there. The first chunk of photos are from a failed trip to Lantau Island on the journey to see the big buddha. Nonetheless, T, Rodney, and I were able to still have a bit of fun. Most of the photos are off-color from  the  upload (boo), but you can get the gist of it. I’m still working on stitching some, but processing takes so much time! Now I feel a little bit of what you do, Dave.

It was a very foggy morning that should have been a warning sign to not go…but we were optimistic.

^This was right outside the station. It was major foggy out there as you can see the contrast with the people.

A Chinese New Year worthy decoration.

The following are from the Kowloon Park off of Tsim Sha Tsui.

The next batch are from the 10,000 Buddha Temple. We thought it might be fun to count them all….but as you can tell, that would be too tiring, so we’ll take it for truth that there are 10,000 featured in all. I highlighted some of my favorite Buddha expressions.

This guy looks seriously scared.  Don’t mess. In the words of Joanne “I kew you (then I’ll eat you)”   “What up” monk-style. friend Jen + friend statue Look at ’em legs. He’d be great for a Nair commercial.

Who needs eyes when you have extra hands?

And the following from a dessert place in HK called Honeymoon Desserts. There’s a lot of dessert places here, but still lots that I haven’t tried. I feel like I’ve eaten a lot since I’ve arrived. Good thing I’m playing rugby now.

And the next day (Saturday) I went with some friends to Shenzhen. We did a little shopping and then visited a theme park called Windows of the World. I didn’t know but a lot of galas and national special evening events take place on the stage here.

The outside.

The inside.

A sister, Vy. =] She’s teaching me some Viet.  Friend Sandra looks excited for the maze. Yay, we’re at the middle!  Friend Kevin Cheng Top Modeling it through the pillars in a Spanish (?) attraction.

I hope all those photos were enough to whet your appetite for experiencing Hong Kong. I realized there’s always so many things to do in HK, but I’m trying to be careful on living modestly and maintaining discipline. I’ve had some more thoughts that I want to share but this post seems long enough so perhaps I’ll share it in the next one. =]

In other news, I visited KIBC (Kowloon International Baptist Church) with some fellow friends and I like it there. I hope to learn more about it and fellowship with the young adult group after service this Sunday. So I’ll leave you with a Word that I’ve been reading through this week.

2Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. 3Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.4There is one body and one Spirit—just as you were called to one hope when you were called— 5one Lord, one faith, one baptism; 6one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all. (Ephesians 4)

3 thoughts on “People, Places, and Things

  1. Brittany says:

    These are simply beautiful, Becca! Now I’m really going to ask for those tickets to HK for graduation! And those desserts–YUM! 🙂 Keep experiencing HK like a true international student so I can live vicariously through you. Every time I read a new post, I cannot help but be encouraged. Thinking of you always dear friend,

    ~B-Smallz

  2. Allison says:

    ❤ kowloon park and honeymoon desserts ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

