Modest Living

So I’ve noticed that there’s a lot of clutter around our house. When I come back from UofI, I always get the itch to clean but the sheer enormity of the work becomes overwhelming so I always end up quitting after the completion of the first clean-up task. Through this cycle, I’ve learned a few things:

  1. David, my older brother, likes to keep boxes from everything he buys. It comes in handy sometimes, but there’s a lot of boxes.  ( I love you, dLai!)
  2. Apathy falls in as we choose the “deal with it later” attitude, so after a while, no one cares that stuff is not where it’s supposed to be or that it’s piling up. I fall victim to this quite often.
  3. Throwing things away is essential to keep things less cluttered even if there’s a slight chance that it “might be useful” in the future.
  4. It is useful to keep track of one’s clothing, especially favorite items. Between the chairs, the bed, the laundry, and chairs again, I tend to lose a good amount of my T-shirts and what nots because they get amassed (wrongly) into Dave’s laundry. Or if I’m unlucky enough, it gets pushed off a chair into a dark corner that is found (or not) only after I get desperate enough to look for it.

After the conscious act of having to pack “my stuff” into just one suitcase, a book bag, and a petite duffel sized bag, I realized how much stuff I really do have. Granted, some of them are useful and necessary things (one can never have too much underwear in college), but I think I need to be more conscious of just how much stuff I need or can do without. By comparison, I feel like I have tried to narrow things down to my essentials when I move into LAR, my dorm. But I keep falling into the idea that “by comparison” I can do with a little more and still be less than so-and-so.

So another post-Urbana09 after thought has been “How do I take on a lifestyle of modesty in light of what I know about the world?” I’m still thinking and praying on this one, hopefully you are too.

Well, it is less than 11 hours to take off, and 1AM here in Chicago. The real deal is really coming.

1When Jesus had called the Twelve together, he gave them power and authority to drive out all demons and to cure diseases, 2and he sent them out to preach the kingdom of God and to heal the sick. 3He told them: “Take nothing for the journey—no staff, no bag, no bread, no money, no extra tunic. (Luke 9)

One thought on “Modest Living

  1. Des says:

    Becky, every time I come across traveling back home I realize I get stuck in the mist of packing. It seems to take most of my time, because I can’t decide what to bring back, resulting in over packing! hah. But this time around it was different. I literally packed an hour before leaving for my flight. Like you mentioned, it made me think a lot about what I really need or what I can live without. Granted packing for half a year doesn’t compare to 3 weeks, but we do carry along with us the same faith. Have fun unpacking 😉

Leave a Reply

